1 Goshakar

Pnr Check Seat Assignment

What is PNR Status?

PNR (Passenger Name Record) is a 10 digit code written on top-left corner of a ticket. It is a travel record of an individual or a group of individuals, maintained in CRS (Central Reservation System) database. This code is generated only when the CRS gets full data of journey like passenger's name, gender, age, train number, journey class, berth preference, contact link, etc. It is a "follow-up" process by which passengers are able to get updates about the status of their journey. This code is of great use to passengers, whose tickets are not confirmed. It helps them to check whether their tickets got confirmed or not.

Check Railway PNR Status

You can check your ticket' reservation status from our site by inserting PNR number and clicking on the "Get PNR Status" button. This will help you to get current status of your booked ticket. In addition to ticket status, the other details like train name, boarding date, boarding point and your destination will also get displayed. Besides checking status of tickets reserved with IRCTC or Indian railway counter, you can also check train schedule, seat availability, station code, train name and number using this intuitive interface.

PNR status explained

The PNR status of your IRCTC or Indian Railway ticket can easily be checked on our website. Just enter your PNR number and click the button where indicated. A new window will appear showing your current status.

What is PNR status and what does it tell me?

pnr status details : the actual pnr status of the ticket

PNR status is the status of your booking. It tells you whether your ticket is confirmed, wait listed, reserved, etc.

When do I need to know my PNR status?

When traveling by train in India, you may find that your train ticket is on a waitlist. This is quite common and to find out whether your ticket is confirmed you need to check your current PNR status. You can easily do this online at www.irctc-pnr-status.com . To see the current status of your train ticket on the IRCTC booking system waitlist, just use the form at the top of this page.

What does “PNR number” mean?

pnr number on Indian Railways ticket

PNR stands for “passenger name record” and it tells you your current status on the WL (waitlist) or RAC (reservation against cancellation queue). If you buy a WL ticket or an RAC ticket, you will be assigned a unique 10-digit PNR number.

3 ways of checking of Indian Railways pnr status

There are three ways to check your PNR status:

  1. Online via your PC
  2. Via SMS service
  3. Via a smartphone app

Online via your PC

The easiest way to check your PNR status is to submit a request on our website www.irctc-pnr-status.com or on official Indian Railways website.

Via SMS service:

Using SMS service Check your PNR status by sending an SMS in one of the following formats:

  • your 10-digit PNR number to 139
  • your 10-digit PNR number to 5676747

Note: the correct format of the sms text is ‘9876543210’ (sample number – use your unique PNR number). Note that you just need to type your 10-digit PNR number.

Via a smartphone app

Using smartphone apps to check PNR status Internet-connected smartphones and tablets are commonly used so we have listed the following helpful apps for checking your PNR status:

Android apps:

One of the best is “PNR status app“, which you can download from the Google Play store.

iPhone app

There is no dedicated iPhone app to date (10/2014). We will let you know once one is available!

PNR status and railway reservations explained step by step …

WL and RAC

When all available seats on a train are sold, the railway ( Indian Railway or IRCTC ) releases RACs for railway reservations. Once all of those are sold, WL tickets are released. On almost every train, tickets are canceled for a variety of reasons. These cancellations can get you on the train if you bought an RAC or WL ticket. When the reservation chart of a particular train is ready (usually meaning that the train is due to depart in a few hours) and there are still some available tickets in different quotas, those will be given to RAC/WL ticket holders.

passenger details on Indian Railways ticket

seat class of the Indian Railways ticket

Here is an example of a railway reservation situation. Tickets are sold in the following order:

  1. Available 02
  2. Available 01
  3. RAC 01
  4. RAC 02
  5. RAC 03
  6. RAC 04
  7. WL 01
  8. WL 02

Understanding your ticket and WL number of PNR status

On your ticket, there are two numbers. They tell you the position at which you joined the waitlist and your current position – in this order. Here is an example:

You are booking a ticket online (Indian Railway, IRCTC, etc…). You find the train and class/seat/berth that you want along with the date and time. At the end of the reservation, you buy a ticket with WL5/WL2.

In this example you joined the WL at position 5, but by the time you actually bought the ticket online you moved to position 2 (due either to a cancellation or to someone not making a final booking). The first number will stay the same – it indicates when you JOINED the queue. The second number will decrease until you get a ticket (hopefully).

Your railway reservation could look like:

  • WL 5/WL 2 (this is your starting position)
  • WL 5/WL 1
  • WL 5/RAC 3
  • WL 5/RAC 2
  • WL 5/RAC 1
  • WL 5/CNF

WL 5/WL 2 = Waitlist ticket: you cannot board the train.

WL 5/RAC 3 = RAC ticket: you are allowed to board the train, but you may end up on a seat instead of a berth.

WL 5/CNF = Confirmed ticket: you can board the train and you have a berth to yourself.

WL and RAC refunds

If your train is ready for departure and its reservation chart is finalized, the cost of your WL ticket will be automatically refunded to your bank account.

NOTE: There can be significant movement on the waitlist on the very last day, so you may get an RAC status at the last minute. In such a case, you will not get a refund, as an RAC is actually a boarding ticket.

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *