1 Shaktizuru

Homework Tutor London

Emma

Centre Director

I was born in Dublin, Ireland and moved to Canada in Grade 9. I lived in Pickering, Ontario until Grade 12 and then moved to Niagara-on-the-Lake. I came to London to attend school and I’ve been here ever since :) My background is in teaching with an early childhood specialty. I’ve worked with Oxford Learning in many different capacities since 1999. I’ve been here in Byron since 2004. Oxford Learning is the perfect fit as I get to work with students of all ages. It’s my dream job. In my spare time I love to hang out with my husband and two puppies, read and watch movies. I also love to travel (particularly to Ireland to visit my family). Oxford Learning’s mission is to help students reach their highest potential :) I'm lucky to have such a fun and rewarding career.

Close

Liz

Education Director

I was born in Galt, Ontario. I grew up in several small communities as my father was a bank manager and we were transferred approximately every five years. Places I have lived include: Galt, Drumbo, Chapleau, Teeswater, Mount Forest, Mississauga, Waterloo, Hamilton and finally London. I attended the University of Waterloo and received my Bachelor of Environment Studies with a major in Geography. I was interested in the environment and was inspired by my high school geography teacher. In my spare time I enjoy reading, gardening, spending time at the cottage, canoeing and playing board games. I have worked at Oxford Learning since September 2001. I enjoy working here because I learn something new every day. I also get a great deal of pleasure out of helping students achieve their goals :)

Close

Katelyn

Education Coordinator

Hi! I'm Katelyn. I was born and raised in London. I attended John Paul II High School and Western University. My degree is in Global Developmental Studies with a minor in Sociocultural Anthropology. Through that program I was fortunate to partake in several volunteer opportunities including: counselling at a summer camp in Negril, Jamaica and working as an afterschool program coordinator in Copan, Honduras. Both experiences taught me the importance of adjusting my teaching strategies to suit each student.

I love working at Oxford Learning. Each student is seen as an individual with different interests and goals. We celebrate every accomplishment!

In my spare time, I enjoy travelling, camping, snowboarding, reading, yoga, scrapbooking and scuba diving. I am working towards my master scuba diving certification, so that someday I can educate others on marine conservation.

Close

Lauren

High School Math & Science

I grew up in London, and went to the University of Western Ontario, where I received my undergrad degree in Medical Sciences and Psychology. I received a Masters degree from Western in Clinical Anatomy, as well as my Bachelor of Education from Althouse. I have always had a love for Science, and teaching, which have contributed to the anatomical education research I am currently working on in my PhD studies. I love teaching because I enjoy seeing a student’s face light up when they understand that difficult concept, or when they are excited about something they’ve just learned. Learning is a lifelong process for everyone, and I learn so much from the students at Oxford Learning. I really enjoy having the opportunity to work with each student, to share my knowledge and help them to achieve their goals. In my spare time I love to read, play the piano, and spend time with my friends and family.

Close

Kathryn

Elementary

My name is Kathryn, and I have been teaching at Oxford Learning since April 2015, I grew up in London, and went to South Secondary school. I earned my degree in Interdisciplinary Linguistics and English at Western. I have always loved reading and languages, and I love to share that passion with my students. While at Western, I fenced for the varsity team, and was a team captain and team manager. In the summers, I coached and was a counsellor for the fencing camp with Sport Western. I completed my Bachelor of Education at the University of Ottawa.

In my spare time, I like to take my dogs hiking, read, bake, and play board games. I love working at Oxford Learning because it allows me to build connections with students and watch as they make huge leaps in their learning. It is so satisfying to see a student who used to be discouraged by work, start to tackle it with confidence!

Close

Sharon

French

I was born in Shawinigan, Quebec, in a bilingual household. My family moved to Stratford, ON when I was 12 yrs old. I studied Kinesiology and French at the University of Waterloo and attended the Faculty of Education at Western University. I have taught Core French for the London District Catholic School Board for 36 years. I retired in June 2016. I have enjoyed inspiring a love for and an appreciation of the benefits of learning a second language to thousands of students. 

In my spare time, I love to spend time with my 3 adult children, my son in law, my 2 grandsons Wesley and Matthew and my black lab Jazzy. I love to play golf, tennis, run, go to the gym and read!
 

Close

Carolyn

Elementary

My name is Carolyn. I grew up in Sarnia. I received my degree in English Language and Literature, with an area of concentration in Medieval History from Western University.

I completed my Bachelor of Education in North Bay, where I also learned what -35 degrees feels like!

I have always loved reading and history and enjoy sharing my passion (and the occasional quirky fact) with students. It's such an amazing experience to help a student reach their "aha" moment. I've worked with children in some capacity for most of my adult life, and used to be a Cub Scout leader.

In my spare time I enjoy reading, painting/drawing, and playing wildly competitive board games!

Close

Nicole

Elementary

Hi! I'm Nicole. I was born and raised in London.

I've always loved learning and expanding my education. I attended London Central Secondary School and Western University, where I earned my degree with a double major in Psychology and Sociology. Throughout my time at Western, I volunteered with educational organizations. I was fortunate enough to work with one of my professors conducting research in elementary schools with children who encountered auditory difficulties. My love for learning has only grown!

I have played soccer and piano since the age of 6. In my spare time, I like to cozy up with a good book, go on adventures around my community, and spend time with my family and friends.

Close

Conor

Elementary

Hello! My name is Conor. I was born and raised here in London. I received a Bachelor’s degree with a major in Sociology from the University of Western Ontario while I played for 5 years on the Mustangs football team!

In 2010, the Toronto Argonauts drafted me to play in the CFL. After my short time on the Argos, I decided to attend teacher’s college at the University of Windsor, where I fell in love with teaching.

I spent the next 5 years traveling Europe while teaching in London, England. I love traveling the world. I am an “information junky”, and the history of special places has always fascinated me! I have a giant record collection; listening to music on a vinyl record is one of my favorite things to do in my spare time! I love to attend shows, and concerts; live music can’t be beaten. If I am not teaching or working at Oxford Learning, I can normally be found coaching high school football in the community.

I enjoy working with students. It’s beyond rewarding watching someone succeed when they’ve put so much effort into something. When in England, I had students who had graduated come back and share their accomplishments. It continually reminded me why all the hard work is worth it! Making a child laugh while learning is something everyone should experience!

 

Close
Read Bio

Lauren

High School Math & Science

Si, si, senor. Мануэль - это. Чего желаете. - Сеньор Ролдан из агентства сопровождения «Белена» сказал мне, что вы… Взмахом руки консьерж заставил Беккера остановиться и нервно оглядел фойе.

Leave a Comment

(0 Comments)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *